Go to the KU Homepage

DEPARTMENT of Geography
...Making a world of difference


Carrie Babb Scholarship and Award in Geography


Carrie BabbCarrie E. Babb (pictured at left as a freshman, circa 1932) graduated from Kutztown State Normal School in 1936.  She later earned a master’s degree from Teachers College of Columbia University and did further graduate study at Northwestern University, Eastern Michigan University, Temple University, and the University of Iowa.  Ms. Babb was a life-long educator with a passion for geography.

The entirety of the Carrie Babb estate was initially left to Margret A. Schuman with the proviso that if she predeceased Ms. Babb the proceeds from the estate would go to the Kutztown University Department of Geography.  Although Ms. Schuman outlived Ms. Babb, she declined the bequest insisting, instead, that the Department of Geography directly benefit from the estate.

The Kutztown University Department of Geography received approximately $370,000 on December 22, 1998.  This gift remains the largest ever received at Kutztown University for an academic department scholarship program.



Carrie Babb Scholarship in Geography
Proceeds from the Estate of the late Carrie E. Babb fund this scholarship.  It is a permanent endowment to recruit and retain geography majors who demonstrate excellence in academic ability and achievement.  The scholarship helps defray tuition costs for up to four years.  Recipients must register as full-time students.  Renewal is subject to departmental review prior the start of each semester. Babb scholarships may be awarded as they become available.  Application (in PDF format)


Carrie Babb Award in Geography
When the Carrie Babb Scholarship endowment contains unexpended funds following the awarding of scholarships, the Department of Geography, at its discretion, will publicize Carrie Babb Award(s) for student research, conference fees, and Kutztown University-sponsored off-campus educational opportunities. Award amounts will be modest and variable.

Award Descriptions (in PDF format):
    Student Conference Presentation Award
    Student Research Award
    Off-Campus Study Award


Babb Scholarship Recipients

  • 2013-2014 - Samantha Becker

  • 2013-          - Eli Bracken

  • 2013-2014 - Nathan Lumsden

  • 2012-2013 - Corey Gray

  • 2012-2013 - Shaye Witman

  • 2010           - Matthew Horvath

  • 2009-2011 - James Gregory

  • 2008-2009 - Kurt Weiser

  • 2007-2008 - Hope Rothermel

  • 2006, 2008 - Oluyinka Akinjiola

  • 2006-2007 - Dinko Tonev

  • 2004-2007 - Theodore J. Conley

  • 2003           - Leo R. Scott, Jr.

  • 2002-2003 - Beth Burkovich

Babb Award Recipients

  • 2010 - Jeffrey Morrow (Student Conference Presentation Award)