Curriculum Committee of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Procedure for curriculum change proposals

Summary of LAS-CC procedures for proposals (requires Adobe Acrobat)

UCC guidelines on the Format for Proposals

Coversheet forms (for both MS Word and Adobe Acrobat)

Helpful links for General Education

General Education Home Page


Meeting schedules

Date Proposals Due to LAS Dean’s Office (GC 206) by 4:30 p.m.
(First Tuesday)
LAS Curriculum Committee Meetings 11 a.m. in GC 200
(Second Tuesday)
Date Proposals Due to UCC in the UCC Office  by 12 noon UCC Meetings
11 a.m. in MSU 312
Tues. Sept. 3 *Tues. Sept. 10 Thurs. Sept. 12 Thurs. Sept. 26
Tues. Oct. 1 Tues. Oct. 8 Thurs. Oct. 10 Thurs. Oct. 24
Tues. Nov. 5   Tues. Nov. 12

Tues. Dec. 3 Tues. Dec. 10
(Finals Week)
mtg @ 10 AM
Thurs. Nov. 15 Thurs. Dec. 5
Tues. Jan. 21 *Tues. Jan. 28

Tues. Feb. 4 Tues. Feb. 11 Thurs. Feb. 13 Thurs. Feb. 27
Tues. Mar. 4 Tues. Mar. 11 Thurs. Mar. 13 Thurs. Mar. 27
Tues. April 1 Tues. April 8 Thurs. Apr. 10 Thurs. Apr. 24
*New courses need to be approved by UCC by October 1 for the Spring term and by March 1 for the Fall term.

New program and program versions are effective the corresponding semester of the following academic year after they are passed by the UCC.
The UCC has the right to grant exceptions in unique circumstances. (From the UCC website)

Note: Julie Fiorini ( maintains the proposal ID database.  Please contact her via email to get ID numbers assigned for your proposals.

Updated 12/23/13 K. Friehauf

Committee members

Lynn Kutch - chairperson - Modern Language Studies
Randy Schaeffer – vice chairperson and UCC representative - Mathematics
Lynn Kutch – secretary  – Modern Language Studies
Mahfuzul Khondaker - General Education Committee Representative – Criminal Justice
Kim Shively - UCC representative -  Anthropology/Sociology
Sharon Lyter – alternate UCC representative – Social Work

Cristen Rosch - Biology
Charlie Shim - Computer Sciences
Andrew Skitko - Electronic Media
Ellesia Blaque - English
Steve Schnell - Geography
Ilene Prokup - Nursing
Allan Bδck – Philosophy
Matthew Junker – Physical Science
George Hale – Political Science
Avidan Milevsky – Psychology

    Anne E. Zayaitz – Dean
    David Beougher - Associate Dean
    University Curriculum Committee (UCC) home page
    Kutztown University home page

Kurt Friehauf - webmeister