As part of the implementation of our new General Education program, we have established a General Education Assessment Committee (GEAC) to assess just how well our new program is fulfilling the needs of our students. According to the General Education Assessment Plan, this committee “will work with the Office of Assessment to identify the most appropriate means of assessing direct evidence of student learning outcomes for the General Education Program at KU. The General Education Assessment Committee will annually interpret assessment data, and based on these interpretations, make recommendations to the Division of Academic Affairs on the potential allocation of resources for the improvement of the General Education Program.” The GEAC has drafted its own set of Bylaws (click HERE to download a copy).

The membership of the GEAC consists of nine voting members (one faculty from each of the four undergraduate colleges, another three teaching faculty members elected at large, one non-teaching faculty elected at large, and one faculty representative from the Strategic Planning and Resources Committee) and five non-voting ex officio members (one representative from each of the following: the Division of Administration and Finance, the Academic Deans, the Office of Assessment, Student Government Board, and the General Education Committee). The current membership is as follows:

CONSTITUENCY
MEMBER
E-MAIL
TERM
College of Business Stephen Hensler hensler@kutztown.edu
2014-2017
College of Education George Sirrakos sirrakos@kutztown.edu
2014-2017
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences Varsha Pandya, Secretary pandya@kutztown.edu
2012-2015
College of Visual & Performing Arts Valerie Trollinger trolling@kutztown.edu
2012-2014
At-large Teaching Faculty Janice Gasker gasker@kutztown.edu
2013-2016
At-large Teaching Faculty Mary Eicholtz, Vice Chair eicholtz@kutztown.edu
2013-2016
At-Large Teaching Faculty Kim Shively shively@kutztown.edu
2014-2017
At-Large Non-Teaching Faculty Krista Prock, Chair prock@kutztown.edu
2012-2015
Strategic Planning and Resources Committee William Donner donner@kutztown.edu
2014-2015
Division of Administration and Finance Brent Penny penny@kutztown.edu
N/A
Academic Dean William Dempsey dempsey@kutztown.edu
N/A
Office of Assessment Gil Clary clary@kutztown.edu
N/A
Student Government Board Danielle Hendricks dhend1936@live.kutztown.edu
N/A
General Education Committee Randy Schaeffer schaeffe@kutztown.edu
N/A
Clerical Support Kathi Malloy malloy@kutztown.edu
N/A

To e-mail the entire committee at once, click HERE.


PILOT TRAINING FOR VOLUNTEERS

The committee has prepared a PowerPoint presentationto help train volunteers for Year 3 of our assessment efforts. This is the year when we assess General Education Goal 3: Personal & Social Responsibility. To download a copy of the presentation, click HERE.


ASSESSMENT NEWSLETTER

Beginning with the Fall 2012 semester, the GEAC began publishing All Things Assessment at KU, a quarterly newsletter of interest to the entire KU community. Containing news and information about assessment, “the newsletter’s purpose is to provide a vehicle by which members of the campus can inform one another about assessments that are occurring at the university, and in doing so better educate ourselves about assessment and the processes of continuous improvement.” Click on an issue below to download a pdf version of that issue.

Volume 1, Issue 1 (11/1/2012)

Volume 1, Issue 2 (12/12/12)

Volume 1, Issue 3 (2/21/13)

Volume 2, Issue 1 (10/31/13)

Volume 2, Issue 2 (12/13/13)


MINUTES

The GEAC meets on a regular basis. Below are the minutes from the GEAC meetings to date. Click on a date to view a pdf version of the minutes from that meeting.


REPORTING TEMPLATES

In order to assess how well we are meeting the General Education goals, the GEAC has developed a set of “reporting templates,” one for each domain, to be used by departments to facilitate reporting the results of their assessment efforts. Below are those templates. Click on a domain to download an MS Word version of the template for that domain.

DOMAIN
1.1.  
1.2.
1.3.a. 
1.3.b.
1.4.a.
1.4.b.
1.5.
1.6.
1.7.
1.8.
2.1.
2.2.
2.3.
2.4.
2.5.
2.6.
2.7.
3.1.
3.2.
3.3.
3.4.