The General Education Committee (GEC) is a standing committee reporting to the University Curriculum Committee (UCC). According to the UCC Bylaws, the “primary purpose of the GEC will be to make recommendations about both new and existing courses to be included in the General Education curriculum.” Furthermore, the March 15, 2010, General Education Task Force Report further stipulates that the GEC will administer the implementation of the new General Education program. Any future changes to the General Education program, including approval of Competency Across the Curriculum courses, will be recommended by the GEC to the UCC which retains final approval. The GEC has established its own set of Bylaws and Operating Procedures (click HERE to download a copy).

The membership of the GEC consists of eight faculty members (one from each of the four undergraduate colleges and another four elected at large), the Provost or designee, and one student. The current membership is as follows:

CONSTITUENCY
MEMBER
E-MAIL
TERM
College of Business Mostafa Maksy maksy@kutztown.edu
2012-2014
College of Education Kathleen Stanfa stanfa@kutztown.edu
2013-2015
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences Charlie Shim shim@kutztown.edu
2013-2015
College of Visual & Performing Arts Nicole Romanski romanski@kutztown.edu
2015-2017
At-large Patricia Derr, Vice-Chair derr@kutztown.edu
2014-2016
At-large Mahfuzul Khondaker, Secretary khondake@kutztown.edu
2013-2015
At-Large Randy Schaeffer, Chair schaeffe@kutztown.edu
2013-2015
At-Large
Nancy Zimmerman
2014-2016
Provost’s Designee Carole Wells wells@kutztown.edu
N/A
Student Juan Rodruigez

jrodr163@live.kutztown.edu

N/A
Clerical Support Brian Meares meares@kutztown.edu
N/A

To e-mail the entire committee at once, click HERE.

KU Faculty: To submit a proposal concerning the General Education program, including Competency Across the Curriculum courses, please refer to the Approval Process portion of this website.

The GEC does not currently have a regular meeting schedule. Instead, it meets on an as-needed basis. Additionally, in compliance with its Bylaws, the GEC conducts some business via e-mail. Below are the approved minutes from the GEC meetings to date.

MINUTES