Bookmark and Share

College Advisory Board

A newly formed COE College Advisory Board (CAB) held its first dinner meeting on November 29 in the McFarland Student Un-ion. Dean Teitelbaum, members of our Executive Committee, and 17 of 20 CAB members reviewed our undergraduate and gradu-ate programs and our mission and vision statements and conceptual framework. In addition, a lively discussion took place on the following question: "As 2017 approaches, what are the main issues facing the College of Education (COE) at Kutztown University - and how might this advisory board play a role in helping COE address (some of) them?"

Dean Teitelbaum emphasized that CAB members were chosen from recommendations provided to him, in large part because they are "passionate about teacher education and related areas of study/practice (e.g., library science and counselor education) and dedicated to assisting the efforts of College of Education faculty, staff, students and alumni." The responsibilities of CAB members are the following:

  • Share expertise and counsel (individually and as a group) relative to the mission, vision and conceptual framework of the College and all academic programming and other initiatives
  • Help to enhance the visibility of and advocate for the College in positive ways, in community settings and across campus
  • Assist with fundraising to support our programs and events as well as other activities engaged in by faculty, staff and students
  • Participate in opportunities that directly engage with faculty, staff and students, such as attending College events, serving on selected committees, speaking to classes and club/organization meetings, serving as school partners and mentors for students, etc.
  • Attend Advisory Board meetings

The College Advisory Board plans to meet twice each semester, with the next meeting scheduled for late February.

College Advisory Board group photo

Pictured are members of the newly formed College Advisory Board at their inaugural meeting in November 2016.

Members of the Board:

  • Joshua Abrams, 7th Grade Teacher, Springhouse Middle School, Parkland SD
  • Geina Beaver, Principal, Reading Intermediate High School, Reading SD
  • Luke Boyd, English Teacher, Dieruff High School, Allentown, SD
  • Lucretia Brown, Director of Equity, Allentown SD
  • John Emerick, School Librarian and Director of School Library Media Services, PA Dept. of Ed. (retired)
  • Susan Featro, ESL Coordinator, Tamaqua SD
  • George Fiore, Superintendent, Kutztown SD
  • Tsehay Jackson, Teacher, Reading Intermediate High School, Reading SD
  • Michael Kelly, Principal, Eyer Middle School, East Penn SD
  • Ashley Landis, 7th Grade Social Studies Teacher, Lower Macungie Middle School, East Penn SD
  • Dennine Leschinsky, Instructional Support Teacher, Wescosville Elementary School, East Penn SD
  • Ryan Palm, 7th Grade Social Studies Teacher, Northeast Middle School, Reading SD
  • Michael Pladus, Superintendent, Upper Dublin SD (retired)  
  • Robert Pleis, Superintendent, Twin Valley SD
  • Andrew Potteiger, Superintendent, Brandywine Heights Area SD
  • Michele Schoener, Learning Support Teacher, Greenwich-Lenhartsville Elementary School, Kutztown SD
  • Thomas Seidenberger, Superintendent, East Penn SD (retired)
  • Jeremy Sweigart, Special Education Consultant, Eastern Lebanon County SD
  • David Wildonger, Acting Deputy Superintendent, Allentown SD
  • Kenneth Zellner, Elementary Teacher and Administrator, Parkland SD, Adjunct Professor at KU, and School Board Member, Northwestern Lehigh SD (retired)