Bookmark and Share

Student News

 Lauren Ickes and Chris Harding

Lauren Ickes and Christian Harding receive Certificates of Achievement Dean's Scholar Awards 2015.

Both Lauren and Chris were recoginzed for their research efforts under the guidance of Dr. Michael Davis.  Chris is also the first recipient of the Mary Mobley-St. John Scholarship in Geography/Marine Science.









Alumni Meet

KU Geography Alumni: Laura Kaufmann, Phil Johnson, and Aaron Brouse meet with current KU Environmental Science-Biology student Rebecca Kovalik at the 2014 Fall Dinner Meeting of the Delaware Valley Geographical Association held in West Chester, PA.  











Nick Wade

Nick Wade (shown) and Aaron Brouse intern for Borough of Lansdale updating GIS databases.  Click here and here for details.











Eli Bracken Eli Bracken interns for Emmaus, saves community big bucks!  Click here  or here for details.

Update!  Eli was hired by the Borough of Emmaus over the '14-'15 winter break to inventory and map street pavement conditions to assist in repair and maintenance planning.  Eli is also a member of the Borough of Emmaus/Upper Milford Enviornmental Advisory Council to provide Emmaus and Upper Milford city council members and municipal managers with an environmental perspective on municipal issues. 






Troy CroakTroy Croak Receives Certificate of Achievement Dean's Scholar Award 2014

Troy received his award for the outstanding work he performed during his internship with the National Park Service at the Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area.  Part of his duties included fieldwork and cartography using a Geographic Information System (GIS).  Troy produced maps for the Delaware Water Gap park and for an external project called Adapting to Climate Change: Risks and Opportunities for the Upper Delaware River Region.  The project resulted in a publication which may be viewed here.








Michelle SaylesMichelle Sayles Receives Newman Civic Fellow Award

Junior Geography major Michelle Sayles, received the prestigious Newman Civic Fellow Award this spring. She was honored for her leadership skills and environmental activism on campus and in the community.