Bookmark and Share

Meet Our Faculty

Chair of the Department of Music
Dr. Jeremy Justeson


Prof. Daniel Neuenschwander, Wind Ensemble, Symphonic Band, Chamber Winds, and the KU Marching Unit (KUMU)

Prof. Rebecca Ostermann, Choir

Dr. Kevin Kjos, Jazz Ensembles,

Dr. Peter Isaacson, Orchestra

Chamber Ensemble
Dr. Hank Alviani, Chamber Singers
Dr. Maria Asteriadou
, Chamber Music
Dr. Marie-Aline Cadieux, Chamber & String Ensembles
Dr. Soo Goh, Clarinet Ensemble
Prof. Jamal Jones, Popular Music Ensemble
Dr. Jeremy Justeson, Saxophone Ensembles
Dr. Kevin Kjos, Rock and Blues Ensemble
Dr. Frank Kumor, Percussion & World Percussion
Prof. Adriana Linares, International Chamber Quintet
Dr. Susanna Loewy, Flute Ensemble
Dr. John Metcalf, Brass Choir
Prof. Daniel Neuenschwander, Brass Quintet & Trombone Choir
Prof. Kurt Nikkanen, International Chamber Quintet
Dr. Peter Isaacson, String Ensemble
Prof. Nate Radley, Jazz Combos
Prof. Carver Scott Lee, Jazz Combos


Brass Faculty
Dr. Kevin Kjos, Trumpet
Dr. John Metcalf, Euphonium & Tuba
Prof. Daniel Neuenschwander, Trombone
Prof. Shari Gleason-Mayrhofer, Horn

Commercial Music Faculty
Prof. Kristin Cochran, Commercial Voice Instructor
Dr. Kevin Kjos, Director of Commercial Music Studies, Rock and Blues Ensemble
Prof. Jamal Jones, Popular Music Ensembles, Commercial Composition/Arranging
Prof. James Gutierrez, Music Business
Dr. John Metcalf, Music Technology, Audio Engineering
Prof. Scott Tice, Audio Engineering
Dr. Valerie Trollinger, Performing Arts Administration

Jazz Faculty
Prof. Cathy Chemi, Jazz Voice
Prof. Nate Radley, Guitar
Prof. Neal Kirkwood, Jazz Piano and Jazz Vibes
Dr. Kevin Kjos, Trumpet, Jazz Studies, and Jazz Ensembles
Prof. Adam Kolker, Saxophone
Prof. Carver Scott Lee, Bass
Prof. John Riley, Jazz Percussion

Keyboard Faculty
Dr. Maria Asteriadou, Piano & Class Piano
Dr. Ina Grapenthin, Organ & Class Piano
Dr. Daniel Immel, Piano & Class Piano
Prof. Neal Kirkwood, Jazz Piano

Music Education Faculty
Dr. Ina Grapenthin, Elementary Methods
Dr. Jeremy Justeson, Woodwind Techniques
Dr. Peter Isaacson, String Techniques
Dr. Frank Kumor, Percussion Techniques
Prof. Daniel Neuenschwander, Instrumental Methods
Prof. Rebecca Ostermann, Choral Methods
Dr. John Metcalf, Brass Techniques
Dr. Valerie Trollinger, Overture to Music Education, Secondary Methods

Music History Faculty
Dr. Henry Alviani, Introduction to Music Literature
Prof. James Gutierrez, Introduction to Music Literature, Hip-Hop Music and Culture
Dr. Daniel Immel
, Introduction to Music Literature
Dr. Peter Isaacson, Introduction to Music Literature
Dr. R. Todd Rober, Music History, Introduction to Music Literature
Dr. Soo Goh, Introduction to Music Literature
Dr. Valerie Trollinger, Introduction to Music Literature

Percussion Faculty
Dr. Frank Kumor, Percussion
Dr. Andy Thierauf, Percussion
Prof. John Riley, Jazz Percussion

Strings Faculty
Dr. Peter Isaacson, Violin
Prof. Kurt Nikkanen, Violin
Prof. Adriana Linares, Viola
Dr. Marie-Aline Cadieux, Cello, String Bass
Prof. Scott Lee, String Bass
Prof. Nate Radley, Guitar

Theory & Composition Faculty
Dr. Marie-Aline Cadieux, Aural Skills & Music Theory
Dr. Peter Isaacson, Aural Skills
Prof. Jamal Jones, Composition
Dr. Frank Kumor, Aural Skills & Music Theory
Dr. John Metcalf, Composition
Prof Rebecca Ostermann, Aural Skills

Voice Faculty

Prof. Cathy Chemi, Jazz Voice
Dr. Trucilla Sabatino, Voice
Dr. Henry Alviani, Voice

Woodwind Faculty
Dr. Jeremy Justeson, Saxophone
Prof. Adam Kolker, Jazz Saxophone
Dr. Susanna Loewy, Flute
Dr. Valerie Trollinger, Bassoon
Prof. Kim Webster, Oboe
Dr. Soo Goh, Clarinet