General Education Assessment Committee

Our Purpose

The purpose of the General Education Assessment Committee (GEAC) is to collect and analyze assessment data from Kutztown University's General Education Program. The General Education Program consists of eight Student Learning Outcomes (SLOs). Each year, the GEAC is charged with submitting data-informed recommendations to the division of Academic and Student Affairs, the University Curriculum Committee, and the General Education Committee on ways to improve the structure and content of the General Education Program at Kutztown University.

Click here to access GEAC's By-Laws.

CONSTITUENCY

MEMBER E-MAIL TERM
College of Education Georgeos Sirrakos sirrakos@kutztown.edu 
2017 - 2020
College of Business Yongjae Kim ykim@kutztown.edu 2017 - 2020
College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Sudarshan Fernando fernando@kutztown.edu 2018 - 2021
College of Visual and Performing Arts Angela Cirucci, chair cirucci@kutztown.edu   2017 - 2020
At-Large Teaching Faculty Khori Newlander newlander@kutztown.edu 2019 - 2022
At-Large Teaching Faculty Yun (Amy) Lu lu@kutztown.edu 2018 - 2021
At-Large Teaching Faculty Robert Ryan rryan@kutztown.edu 2017 - 2020
At-Large Non-Teaching Faculty Krista Prock, Vice Chair prock@kutztown.edu  2018 - 2021
Academic Dean David Beougher beougher@kutztown.edu N/A
Office of Assessment Karen Rauch rauch@kutztown.edu N/A
Student Government Board TBA 2019 - 2020
General Education Committee John Stanley stanley@kutztown.edu 2017 - 2020
Admin Support TBA N/A

 

2018 GENERAL EDUCATION ASSESSMENT RUBRICS

The American Association of Colleges and Universities (AAC&U) developed assessment practices that deepen, integrate, and demonstrate student learning through learning-centered assessment policies and approaches. Additionally, through the VALUE (Valid Assessment of Learning in Undergraduate Education) initiative, AAC&U has worked with faculty and assessment expert teams across the country to develop rubrics through which institutions can evaluate student learning across courses and programs (AAC&U, 2017). The GEAC has modified and adapted these rubrics for assessment of the General Education Program SLOs at Kutztown University. The focus of assessment is on student learning as demonstrated through student work products.

LISTING OF ANNUAL REPORTS

MEETING SCHEDULE  - 2019-20

MINUTES

The General Education Assessment Committee (GEAC) was formed in December 2010. Since that time, the GEAC meets on a regular basis.