Bookmark and Share

General Education Committee (GEC)

The General Education Committee (GEC) is a standing committee reporting to the University Curriculum Committee (UCC). According to the UCC Bylaws, the "Primary purpose of the GEC will be to make recommendations about both new and existing courses to be included in the General Education curriculum." Furthermore, the March 15, 2010, General Education Task Force Report further stipulates that the GEC will administer the implementation of the new General Education program. Any future changes to the General Education program, including approval of Competency Across the Curriculum courses, will be recommended by the GEC to the UCC which retains final approval. The GEC has established its own set of Bylaws and Operating Procedures (click HERE to download a copy).

The membership of the GEC consists of eight faculty members (one from each of the four undergraduate colleges and another four elected at large), the Provost or designee, and one student. The current membership is as follows:

ConstituencyMemberE-MailTerm
College of Business Mostafa Maksy maksy@kutztown.edu 2016-2018
College of Education Kathleen Stanfa stanfa@kutztown.edu 2017-2019
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences Lindsey Runell runell@kutztown.edu 2017-2019
College of Visual & Performing Arts Nicole Romanski romanski@kutztown.edu 2017-2019
At-large Ed Hanna ehanna@kutztown.edu 2016-2018
At-large Robert L. Smith rosmith@kutztown.edu 2017-2019
At-large Lisa Weckerle
weckerle@kutztown.edu 2017-2019
At-large John Stanley, Chair stanley@kutztown.edu 2016-2018
Provost's Designee Carole Wells wells@kutztown.edu N/A
Student Thomas Villani tvill360@live.kutztown.edu N/A
Clerical Support Brian Meares meares@kutztown.edu N/A

KU Faculty: To submit a proposal concerning the General Education program, including Competency Across the Curriculum courses, please refer to the Approval Process portion of this website.

The GEC does not currently have a regular meeting schedule. Instead, it meets on an as-needed basis. Additionally, in compliance with its Bylaws, the GEC conducts some business via e-mail. Below are the approved minutes from the GEC meetings to date.

Meeting Schedule for Spring 2018

Meeting Date Proposals due by Time/Location of the meeting
February 2, 2018 January 26, 2018 TBD
March 2, 2018 February 23, 2018 TBD
April 6, 2018 March 30, 2018 TBD

Minutes from Past Meetings

November 10, 2017

October 20, 2017

September 27, 2017

August 28, 2015


August 29, 2014

April 18, 2014

January 31, 2014

November 15, 2013

May 3, 2013

February 11, 2013