Bookmark and Share

General Education Committee (GEC)

The General Education Committee (GEC) is a standing committee reporting to the University Curriculum Committee (UCC). According to the UCC Bylaws, the "Primary purpose of the GEC will be to make recommendations about both new and existing courses to be included in the General Education curriculum." Furthermore, the March 15, 2010, General Education Task Force Report further stipulates that the GEC will administer the implementation of the new General Education program. Any future changes to the General Education program, including approval of Competency Across the Curriculum courses, will be recommended by the GEC to the UCC which retains final approval. The GEC has established its own set of Bylaws and Operating Procedures (click HERE to download a copy).

The membership of the GEC consists of eight faculty members (one from each of the four undergraduate colleges and another four elected at large), the Provost or designee, and one student. The current membership is as follows:

ConstituencyMemberE-MailTerm
College of Business Mostafa Maksy maksy@kutztown.edu 2016-2018
College of Education Kathleen Stanfa stanfa@kutztown.edu 2017-2019
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences TBA 2018-2020
College of Visual & Performing Arts Nicole Romanski romanski@kutztown.edu 2017-2019
At-large John Ronan ronan@kutztown.edu 2018-2020
At-large Robert L. Smith rosmith@kutztown.edu 2017-2019
At-large Lisa Weckerle
weckerle@kutztown.edu 2017-2019
At-large John Stanley, Chair 2017-2018 stanley@kutztown.edu 2018-2020
Provost's Designee Carole Wells wells@kutztown.edu N/A
Student Thomas Villani tvill360@live.kutztown.edu N/A
Clerical Support Brian Meares meares@kutztown.edu N/A

KU Faculty: To submit a proposal concerning the General Education program, including Competency Across the Curriculum courses, please refer to the Approval Process portion of this website. All proposals must be uploaded to the GEC Sharepoint site (http://intranet/sites/committees/ucc/gec/SitePages/Home.aspx) by the deadline listed below.

Meeting Schedule for 2018-2019 Academic Year

Meeting Date Proposals due by Time/Location of the meeting
August 31, 2018 August 24, 2018 2-3:30, Stratton 317
September 7, 2018 August 31, 2018 2-3:30, Stratton 317
Future meetings will be posted after the August/September 2018 meeting

Minutes from Past Meetings

December 8, 2017

November 10, 2017

October 20, 2017

September 27, 2017

August 28, 2015


August 29, 2014

April 18, 2014

January 31, 2014

November 15, 2013

May 3, 2013

February 11, 2013