Bookmark and Share

General Education Committee (GEC)

The General Education Committee (GEC) is a standing committee reporting to the University Curriculum Committee (UCC). According to the UCC Bylaws, the "Primary purpose of the GEC will be to make recommendations about both new and existing courses to be included in the General Education curriculum." Any changes to the General Education program will be recommended by the GEC to the UCC which retains final approval. The GEC has established its own set of Bylaws and Operating Procedures.

The membership of the GEC consists of eight faculty members (one from each of the four undergraduate colleges and another four elected at large), the Provost or designee, and one student. The current membership is as follows:

ConstituencyMemberE-MailTerm
College of Business Qin Geng geng@kutztown.edu 2018-2020
College of Education Kathleen Stanfa stanfa@kutztown.edu 2017-2019
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences Lindsey Runell runell@kutztown.edu 2018-2020
College of Visual & Performing Arts Nicole Romanski romanski@kutztown.edu 2017-2019
At-large John Ronan ronan@kutztown.edu 2018-2020
At-large Robert L. Smith, Vice-Chair 2018-2019 rosmith@kutztown.edu 2017-2019
At-large Lisa Weckerle, Secretary 2018-2019
weckerle@kutztown.edu 2017-2019
At-large John Stanley, Chair 2018-2019 stanley@kutztown.edu 2018-2020
Provost's Designee Carole Wells wells@kutztown.edu N/A
Student Thomas Villani tvill360@live.kutztown.edu N/A
Clerical Support Brian Meares meares@kutztown.edu N/A

KU Faculty: To submit a proposal concerning the General Education program, including Competency Across the Curriculum courses, please refer to the Approval Process portion of this website. All proposals must be uploaded to the GEC Sharepoint site (http://intranet/sites/committees/ucc/gec/SitePages/Home.aspx) by the deadline listed below.

Meeting Schedule for 2018-2019 Academic Year

Meeting Date Proposals due
Time/Location of the meeting
August 31, 2018 August 24, 2018 2-3:30, Stratton 317
September 7, 2018 August 31, 2018 2-3:30, Stratton 317
October 19, 2018 October 11, 2018 2-3:30, Stratton 317
November 16, 2018 November 7, 2018 2-3:30, Stratton 317
December 7, 2018 November 28, 2018 2-3:30, Stratton 317

Minutes from Past Meetings

December 8, 2017

November 10, 2017

October 20, 2017

September 27, 2017