Quiñones Named to PSAC's Social Justice Task Force

Photo of Melinda Quinones

LOCK HAVEN, Pa. – Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference (PSAC) Commissioner Steve Murray announced Wednesday the creation of a Social Justice Task Force, including Kutztown University's Melinda Quiñones, director of Multicultural Services. The group will represent a broad spectrum of backgrounds with the common goal of combating racism and injustice while focusing on diversity, equity and inclusion within the league.

The purpose of the Social Justice Task Force is to assist the PSAC and its member institutions in developing and recommending policy, programs, initiatives and education for the awareness, improvement and success of the conference’s efforts in diversity, inclusion, equity and social justice.

“Ensuring that we continue to work toward equitable practices is a continuous and important process,” Quiñones said. “I am honored to represent Kutztown University in conversations and direct-action surrounding changes in practices and policies that support our students and community.”

Quiñones began at KU in April 2020. She initiates and leads services, programs and activities that engage and support all students, especially African American, LatinX, international students and others. She provides leadership of KU’s Multicultural Center and fulfilling its mission to create a safe and supportive campus environment by offering educational and community-building opportunities and advocating for the needs and concerns of the multicultural community.

"Athletics has often led the positive social movements in history," explains Murray. "Our role in improving the conversations and circumstance within which our member institutions operate is critical. With the creation of the taskforce, we take a significant step in having a positive influence for particularly our student-athletes."

The task force will be composed of a diverse blend of student-athletes, coaches, campus administrators and athletics department staff members, with at least one representative from each of the league's 18 full member institutions.

Read more on the PSAC website.


Headquartered in Lock Haven, Pennsylvania, the Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference is an NCAA Division II Conference comprised of 18 institutions in Pennsylvania and West Virginia. The member institutions are Bloomsburg University, California University of Pennsylvania, Clarion University, East Stroudsburg University, Edinboro University, Gannon University, Indiana University of Pennsylvania, Kutztown University, Lock Haven University, Mansfield University, Mercyhurst University, Millersville University, The University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown, Seton Hill University, Shepherd University, Shippensburg University, Slippery Rock University and West Chester University.