Contact Us
University Relations
Bookmark and Share

Regional Science Olympiad Moved to March 17

March 16, 2017

Science OlympiadKUTZTOWN, Pa. - Kutztown University will host the Central Eastern Regional Science Olympiad on Friday, March 17, with opening ceremonies taking place at 9:30 a.m. in Keystone Arena.  The closing ceremonies will begin at approximately 3 p.m., also in Keystone Arena.  

The current event schedule can be found at

.The event, originally scheduled for March 16, was moved back one day due to winter storm Stella.  The schedule has been pushed back one additional hour to allow extra travel time for schools to arrive.  

Nearly 700 students representing 29 high schools and 12 middle schools from Berks, Lehigh, Northampton, Northumberland and Schuylkill counties will compete in 50 different events.

In its 33rd year, the Science Olympiad is an international nonprofit organization devoted to improving the quality of K-12 science education, creating a passion for learning science and providing recognition for outstanding achievement in science education by both students and teachers. These goals are accomplished through classroom activities, research, professional development workshops and the encouragement of intramural, district, regional, state, national and international tournaments.

The Olympiad is organized by schools at the junior high and senior high levels. Each school sends one team to compete in a variety of events. High school teachers serve as the coaches, judges, and coordinators.

Olympiad competitions are conducted at four levels - local, regional, state, and national. The local competition is designed to prepare students for regional competition. No teams are eliminated in the local competition.  At the regional level, the top ranked teams move on to the state competition.  The Pennsylvania Science Olympiad State Tournament will be held at Juanita College on Saturday, April 29.

The official website of the International Science Olympiad is

The current event schedule can be found at

For more information visit or contact or 484-646-4116.

Participating Schools  

Junior High/Middle Schools
Boyertown East
Conrad Weiser
Exeter Township
Nazareth Area
Schuylkill Valley
Twin Valley
Whitehall Coplay  

High Schools
Allentown Central Catholic
Bethlehem Catholic
Exeter Township
Governor Mifflin
Moravian Academy
Nazareth Area
Northampton Area
Northwestern Lehigh
Perkiomen Valley
Plymouth Whitemarsh
Schuylkill Valley
Southern Lehigh
Twin Valley
Upper Merion
Wilson (West Lawn)
Wyoming Seminary
Wyomissing Area