Contact Us
Dave Johnson, Assistant Director, University Relations
Bookmark and Share

Bachelor of Arts Degree in Art History Approved for KU

October 7, 2015

KUTZTOWN, Pa. - The Board of Governors of the State System of Higher Education today approved the Bachelor of Arts in art history to be offered at Kutztown University.  The program falls under Kutztown's College of Visual and Performing Arts.

"The arts are a Program of Distinction at Kutztown University and this degree is another great addition to our offerings" said Dr. Kenneth S. Hawkinson, president of Kutztown University.  "Adding a program such as art history will help us fulfill our strategic goal of growing undergraduate enrollment, while helping to meet workforce demands."       

"There is evidence for a strong demand for an art history major among KU students," said Dr. Anne Zayaitz, acting provost at KU.  "The recent growth of the art history minor, combined with KU's close proximity to major art centers makes this program a natural addition as a major."

"Our college has a talented and dedicated faculty and strong tradition of producing outstanding graduates for the work force," said Dr. William Mowder, dean of the College of Visual and Performing Arts.  "It is with great pride that we continue to grow our degree offerings to broaden that tradition of excellence."

The Bachelor of Arts in art history degree will prepare students to work in cultural tourism, including in museums, galleries and historic sites.  The program will build upon the strength of existent visual arts programs, including KU's recently added minor in art history.  The minor started in the spring of 2015 and is currently the sixth largest minor at the university with 73 students.  A total of 34 students have completed the minor since its inception.

The Bachelor of Arts in art history must now be approved by the National Association of Schools of Art and Design's Commission on Accreditation. 

If approved, classes will begin in the fall 2016.

Attending today's meeting on behalf of Kutztown University were: Dr. Kenneth S. Hawkinson, president; Dr. Anne Zayaitz, acting provost and vice president, Division of Academic and Student Affairs; Dr. William Mowder, dean, College of Visual and Performing Arts; Dr. Michelle Kiec, associate dean, College of Visual and Performing Arts; Cheryl Hochberg, chair, Department of Fine Arts, Lisa Norris, associate professor and Christine Atiyeh, associate professor.

For more information contact the College of Visual and Performing Arts at 610-683-4500 or