Contact Us
Dave Johnson, Assistant Director, University Relations
Bookmark and Share

State System Board of Governors Passes Resolution to Honor KU Sesquicentennial

October 7, 2015

KUTZTOWN, Pa. - The Board of Governors of the State System of Higher Education today passed a resolution honoring the Sesquicentennial of Kutztown University.  Guido M. Pichini, chair of the Board of Governors and a member of the Kutztown University Council of Trustees presented the resolution to the board.  Accepting on behalf of the university were Susan Pichini, honorary chair of the Sesquicentennial Celebration, Dr. Kenneth S. Hawkinson, president of Kutztown University, and Jack Wabby, chair, KU Council of Trustees. 

Keystone State Normal School was approved as the official state normal school for Berks, Lehigh and Schuylkill Counties on Sept. 15, 1866.  The school was known as Kutztown State Teachers College, Kutztown State College and in 1983 became Kutztown University.

KU is currently in the middle of a 13-month celebration.  For a complete list of events visit