General Education Committee Members and Meetings

The General Education Committee (GEC) is a standing committee reporting to the University Curriculum Committee (UCC). According to the UCC bylaws, the "primary purpose of the GEC will be to make recommendations about both new and existing courses to be included in the General Education curriculum." Any changes to the General Education Program will be recommended by the GEC to the UCC, which retains final approval. The GEC has established its own set of bylaws and operating procedures.

The membership of the GEC consists of eight faculty members (one from each of the four undergraduate colleges and another four elected at large), the Provost or Designee, and one student. The current membership is as follows:

Constituency Member E-Mail Term
College of Business Qin Geng geng@kutztown.edu 2018-2020
College of Education Kathleen Stanfa, Vice-Chair, 2019-2020 stanfa@kutztown.edu 2019-2021
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences George Hale hale@kutztown.edu 2018-2020
College of Visual & Performing Arts Megan O'Byrne obyrne@kutztown.edu 2019-2021
At-Large Khori Newlander newlander@kutztown.edu 2019-2021
At-Large Jonathan Shaw jshaw@kutztown.edu 2019-2021
At-Large Albert Fu afu@kutztown.edu 2020-2022
At-Large John Stanley, Chair, 2020-2021 stanley@kutztown.edu 2020-2022
Provost's Designee Carole Wells wells@kutztown.edu N/A
Student Jenny Wallace jwall541@live.kutztown.edu N/A
Clerical Support Brian Meares meares@kutztown.edu N/A

KU Faculty: To submit a proposal concerning the General Education program, including Competency Across the Curriculum courses, please refer to the approval process portion of this website. All proposals must be uploaded to the GEC D2L assignments page by the deadline listed below. You will need to log into D2L to access the assignments page.

Meeting Schedule for 2020-2021 Academic Year

Meeting Date Proposals due Time/Location of the meeting

September 10, 2020 (continuation meeting on September 15)

September 3, 2020

11-11:50, Stratton 317

October 15, 2020 (continuation meeting on October 20) October 8, 2020 11-11:50, Stratton 317
November 19, 2020 (continuation meeting on November 24) November 12, 2020 11-11:50, Stratton 317
January 28, 2021 (continuation meeting on February 2) January 21, 2021 11-11:50, Stratton 317
February 18, 2021 (continuation meeting on February 23) February 11, 2021 11-11:50, Stratton 317
March 18, 2021 (continuation meeting on March 23) March 11, 2021 11-11:50, Stratton 317

Bylaws and Minutes from Past Meetings

Bylaws - Updated 2018

August 21, 2019

September 19, 2019

October 17, 2019

October 22, 2019

November 21, 2019

November 26, 2019