General Education Committee Members and Meetings

The General Education Committee (GEC) is a standing committee reporting to the University Curriculum Committee (UCC). According to the UCC bylaws, the "primary purpose of the GEC will be to make recommendations about both new and existing courses to be included in the General Education curriculum." Any changes to the General Education Program will be recommended by the GEC to the UCC, which retains final approval. The GEC has established its own set of bylaws and operating procedures.

The membership of the GEC consists of eight faculty members (one from each of the four undergraduate colleges and another four elected at large), the Provost or Designee, and one student. The current membership is as follows:

Constituency Member E-Mail Term
College of Business Qin Geng geng@kutztown.edu 2018-2020
College of Education Kathleen Stanfa, Vice-Chair, 2019-2020 stanfa@kutztown.edu 2019-2021
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences George Hale hale@kutztown.edu 2018-2020
College of Visual & Performing Arts Megan O'Byrne obyrne@kutztown.edu 2019-2021
At-Large Khori Newlander newlander@kutztown.edu 2019-2021
At-Large Jonathan Shaw jshaw@kutztown.edu 2019-2021
At-Large John Ronan, Secretary 2019-Fall 2020 ronan@kutztown.edu 2018-2020
At-Large John Stanley, Chair, 2019-2020 stanley@kutztown.edu 2018-2020
Provost's Designee Carole Wells wells@kutztown.edu N/A
Student Jenny Wallace jwall541@live.kutztown.edu N/A
Clerical Support Brian Meares meares@kutztown.edu N/A

KU Faculty: To submit a proposal concerning the General Education program, including Competency Across the Curriculum courses, please refer to the approval process portion of this website. All proposals must be uploaded to the GEC D2L assignments page by the deadline listed below. You will need to log into D2L to access the assignments page.

Meeting Schedule for 2019-2020 Academic Year

Meeting Date Proposals due Time/Location of the meeting

September 19, 2019 (continuation meeting on September 24)

September 12, 2019

11-11:50, Stratton 317

October 17, 2019 (continuation meeting on October 22) October 10, 2019 11-11:50, Stratton 317
November 21, 2019 (continuation meeting on November 26) November 14, 2019 11-11:50, Stratton 317
February 20, 2020 (continuation meeting on February 25) February 13, 2020 11-11:50, Stratton 317
March 19, 2020 (continuation meeting on March 24) March 12, 2020 11-11:50, Stratton 317

Minutes from Past Meetings

August 21, 2019

September 19, 2019