Carrie Babb Scholarship in Geography

Photo of Carrie Babb


Carrie E. Babb graduated from Kutztown State Normal School in 1936. She later earned a master's degree from Teachers College of Columbia University and did further graduate study at Northwestern University, Eastern Michigan University, Temple University, and the University of Iowa. Ms. Babb was a life-long educator with a passion for geography.

The entirety of the Carrie Babb estate was initially left to Margret A. Schuman with the proviso that if she predeceased Ms. Babb the proceeds from the estate would go to the Kutztown University Department of Geography. Although Ms. Schuman outlived Ms. Babb, she declined the bequest insisting, instead, that the Department of Geography directly benefit from the estate. The Kutztown University Department of Geography received approximately $370,000 on December 22, 1998. This gift remains the largest ever received at Kutztown University for an academic department scholarship program.


Proceeds from the Estate of the late Carrie E. Babb fund this scholarship. It is a permanent endowment to recruit and retain geography majors that demonstrate excellence in academic ability and achievement. Available scholarship funds will be divided among chosen recipients. Babb scholarship funds are for fall and spring semester sessions only, and recipients must register as full-time students. Funding is limited to eight semesters with renewal subject to departmental review prior to the start of each semester. Babb scholarship funding will terminate if a recipient fails to pass the departmental review. Funding may not be reinstated following termination. Application (in PDF format)

Carrie Babb Award in Geography

When the Carrie Babb Scholarship endowment contains unexpended funds following the awarding of scholarships, the Department of Geography, at its discretion, will publicize Carrie Babb Award(s) for student research, conference fees, Kutztown University-sponsored off-campus educational opportunities, internship application expenses, and graduate school application fees. Award amounts will be modest and variable.

Award Descriptions and Applications (in PDF format):

Student Conference Presentation Award
Student Research Award
Off-Campus Study Award
Student Internship Expense Award
Graduate School Application Expense Award


Babb Scholarship Recipients

Sp. 2023 Emily Leggiero

Sp. 2023 Patrick O'Brien

2020-2021 Madison Clark

2019-2021 Anna Grayek

2019- Anna Wood

2018-2019 Alison Reynolds

2017-2019 Aaron Haninchick

2017-2021 Courtney Moyer

2015-2019 Tianna Andrews

2015-2018 - Glenn Roedel

2015-2017 - Carley Vegso

2014-2015 - Cathering Grenfel

2014-2015 - Lauren Ickes

2013-2014 - Samantha Becker

2013-2015 - Eli Bracken

2013-2014 - Nathan Lumsden

2012-2013 - Corey Gray

2012-2014 - Shaye Witman

2010- Matthew Horvath

2009-2011 - James Gregory

2008-2009 - Kurt Weiser

2007-2008 - Hope Rothermel

2006, 2008 - Oluyinka Akinjiola

2006-2007 - Dinko Tonev

2004-2007 - Theodore J. Conley

2003 - Leo R. Scott, Jr.

2002-2003 - Beth Burkovich

Babb Award Recipients

2019 - Elizabeth Geesey (Student Conference Presentation Award)

2019 - Abbey Sauerwine (Student Conference Presentation Award)

2019 - Marie Smoyer (Student Conference Presentation Award)

2019 - Sierra Taylor (Student Conference Presentation Award)

2018 - Tianna Andrews (Student Conference Presentation Award)

2018 - David Connelly (Student Conference Presentation Award)

2018 - William Havrilchak (Student Conference Presentation Award)

2018 - Glenn Roedel (Student Conference Presentation Award)

2018 - Alison Reynolds (Student Conference Presentation Award)

2017 - Tianna Andrews (Student Conference Presentation Award)

2017 - Analyse Gaspich (Student Conference Presentation Award)

2017 - Kaili Soisson (Student Conference Presentation Award)

2016 - Analyse Gaspich (Student Conference Presentation Award)

2016 - Christopher Madden (Student Conference Presentation Award)

2016 - Shana Rose (Student Conference Presentation Award)

2015 - Lauren Ickes (Student Conference Presentation Award)

2015 - Rebecca Kovalik (Student Conference Presentation Award)

2010 - Jeffrey Morrow (Student Conference Presentation Award)