Majors, Minors & Departments

The outstanding liberal arts and sciences curriculum provides a well-rounded educational experience. Students may choose to complete an internship at any of hundreds of firms each year. There are also opportunities to study in other countries with a study abroad program. This range of experiences gives students many career paths and options to consider.

Students with interests in more than one area may want to consider declaring a dual major. By combining two majors, a student graduates with qualifications to excel in more types of positions. Consider the possibilities: environmental science and biology will prepare you for work in countless areas, or majoring in archaeology and geography can place you on the cutting edge in spatial analysis of cultures and high-tech cartography. Declaring a dual major may require attending Kutztown University for an additional semester or two.

Declaring a minor is similar, though it requires fewer additional courses. A modern language minor is popular for many students, as it provides them with additional insight into another culture, and assists students seeking careers with international companies or targeting multi-lingual consumers in the United States. Another option for students is to minor in an area closely related to their major to expand their knowledge base.

LAS Majors
  • Anthropology
  • Biochemistry
  • Biochemistry: Pharmacy
  • Biology: Allied Health
  • Biology: Molecular/Micro/ Cell
  • Biology: Organismal/Ecology
  • Biology: Pre-Med & Other Health Careers
  • Chemistry
  • Computer Science
  • Criminal Justice
  • Criminal Justice: Paralegal Studies
  • Cyber Security
  • English
  • English: Paralegal
  • English: Professional Writing
  • Environmental Science: Biology
  • Environmental Science: Chemistry
  • Environmental Science: Geography
  • Environmental Science: Geology
  • Environmental Science: Regenerative Agriculture
  • General Studies
  • General Studies: Professional Studies
  • Geography: Environmental
  • Geography: General
  • Geography: Globalization
  • Geography: Planning
  • Geology
  • German Studies: Communication and Culture
  • History
  • History: Paralegal Studies
  • Information Technology
  • Marine Science: Biology
  • Marine Science: Oceanography
  • Mathematics
  • Philosophy
  • Philosophy: Religious Studies
  • Physics
  • Physics: Astronomy
  • Physics: Engineering
  • Physics: Engineering Technology
  • Political Science
  • Political Science: Paralegal Studies
  • Psychology: General
  • Psychology: Paralegal Studies
  • Public Administration
  • Public Administration: Paralegal Studies
  • Public Relations
  • Social Work
  • Sociology (Fully online degree path available)
  • Spanish
LAS Minors
  • Actuarial Science
  • Anthropology
  • Astronomy
  • Biochemistry
  • Bioethics
  • Biology
  • Case Management
  • Chemistry
  • Criminal Justice
  • Environmental Geography
  • Forensic Studies
  • Game Development
  • Geography
  • Geology
  • German Communication and Culture
  • History
  • Homeland Security
  • Information Technology
  • International Studies
  • Literature
  • Marine Science
  • Mathematics
  • Multicultural Studies in the United States
  • Pennsylvania German Studies
  • Philosophy
  • Physics
  • Planning Geography
  • Political Science
  • Professional Writing
  • Psychology
  • Public Administration
  • Public Relations
  • Social Work
  • Sociology
  • Software Development
  • Spanish
  • Spanish for Modern Business
  • Website Development
  • Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies
Graduate Programs
  • Computer Science (MS)
  • Computer Science: Information Technology (MS)
  • Computer Science: Interdisciplinary Experience (MS)
  • English (MA)
  • English Composition Rhetorical Literature Study (MA)
  • Public Administration (MPA)
  • Public Administration Criminal Justice (MPA)
  • Master of Social Work (MSW)
  • Doctor of Social Work (DSW)
Certificates
  • Data Analytics
  • Geospatial Information Technology
  • School Social Work
Departments
  • Department of Anthropology/Sociology

    Interim Chair: Dr. Kim Shively, shively@kutztown.edu 
    Secretary: TBD
    Phone: 610-683-4242
    Office: 467 Old Main
    Website

    Majors
    • BA Anthropology
    • BA Sociology
    Minors
    • Anthropology
    • Pennsylvania German Studies
    • Sociology
    • Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies

  • Department of Biology

    Chair: Dr. Chrisopher Sacchi, sacchi@kutztown.edu
    Secretary: Mrs. Christina Ferris, ferris@kutztown.edu
    Phone: 610-683-4307
    Office: 223 Boehm Science Building
    Website

    Majors
    • BS Biology: Allied Health
    • BS Pre-Med & Other Health Careers
    • BS Biology: Molecular/Micro/ Cell
    • BS Biology: Organismal/Ecology
    • BS Environmental Science: Biology*
    • BS Environmental Science: Chemistry*
    • BS Environmental Science: Geography*
    • BS Environmental Science: Geology*
    • BS Environmental Science: Regenerative Agriculture*

    *The Environmental Science Program Coordinator is Dr. Christopher Habeck, habeck@kutztown.edu

    Minors

    • Biology
  • Department of Computer Science & Information Technology

    Chair: Dr. Lisa Frye, frye@kutztown.edu
    Secretary: Mrs. Cynthia Sutjak, sutjak@kutztown.edu
    Phone: 610-683-4422
    Office: 256 Old Main
    Website

    Majors
    • BS Computer Science
    • BS/MS Computer Science: Information Technology
    • BS Information Technology
    • BS/MS Computer Science
    Minors
    • Game Development
    • Information Technology
    • Software Development
    • Web Development
    Graduate Programs
    • Computer Science (MS)
    • Computer Science: Information Technology (MS)
    • Computer Science: Interdisciplinary Experience (MS)
    Certificate
    • Data Analytics
  • Department of Criminal Justice

    Chair: Dr. Jonathan Kremser, kremser@kutztown.edu
    Secretary: TBD
    Phone: 484-646-4265
    Office: 365 Old Main
    Website

    Majors
    • BS Criminal Justice
    • BS Criminal Justice: Paralegal Studies
    • BS Cyber Security
    Minors
    • Criminal Justice
    • Forensic Studies
    • Homeland Security
  • Department of English

    Chair: Dr. Johnathan Shaw, shaw@kutztown.edu 
    Assistant Chair: Dr. Amy Lynch-Biniek, lynchbin@kutztown.edu
    Secretary: Mrs. Andrea Buno, buno@kutztown.edu
    Phone: 610-683-4353
    Office: 132 Lytle Hall
    Website

    Majors
    • BA English
    • BA English: Paralegal Studies
    • BA English: Professional Writing
    • BS Public Relations
    Minors
    • Literature
    • Professional Writing
    • Public Relations
    Masters Program
    • English (MA)
    • English Composition Rhetorical Literature Study (MA)
  • Department of Geography

    Chair: Dr. Richard Courtney, courtney@kutztown.edu
    Secretary: Mrs. Laurel Delaney, ldelaney@kutztown.edu
    Phone: 610-683-4364
    Office: 105 Graduate Center
    Website

    Majors
    • BA Geography: Environmental
    • BA Geography: General
    • BA Geography: Globalization
    • BA Geography: Planning
    Minors
    • Geography
    • Environmental Geography
    • Planning Geography
    Certificate
    • Geospatial Information Technology
  • Department of History

    Chair: Dr. Michael Gabriel, gabriel@kutztown.edu 
    Secretary: Ms. Anne Cardinal, cardinal@kutztown.edu
    Phone: 610-683-4385
    Office: 115 Lytle Hall
    Website

    Majors
    • BA History
    • BA History: Paralegal Studies
    Minors
    • History
  • Department of Mathematics

    Chair: Dr. Paul Ache, ache@kutztown.edu
    Secretary: TBD
    Phone: 610-683-4410
    Office: 227 Lytle Hall
    Website

    Majors
    • BS Mathematics
    Minors
    • Actuarial Science
    • Mathematics
  • Department of Modern Language Studies

    Chair: Dr. Lynn Kutch, kutch@kutztown.edu
    Secretary: Mrs. Merlene Oswald, moswald@kutztown.edu
    Phone: 610-683-4427
    Office: 231 Old Main
    Website

    Majors
    • BA German Studies: Communication and Culture
    • BA Spanish
    Minors
    • German Communication and Culture
    • Spanish
    • Spanish for Modern Business
  • Department of Philosophy

    Chair: Dr. Ashraf Adeel adeel@kutztown.edu
    Secretary: Heather Pafchek, pafchek@kutztown.edu
    Phone: 610-683-4230
    Office: A 315 Old Main
    Website

    Majors
    • BA Philosophy
    • BA Philosophy: Religious Studies
    Minors
    • Bioethics
    • Philosophy
  • Department of Physical Sciences

    Chair: Dr. Edward Simpson, simpson@kutztown.edu
    Secretary: Ms. Caecilia Holt, holt@kutztown.edu
    Phone: 610-683-4447
    Office: 425 Boehm Science Center
    Website

    Majors
    • BS Biochemistry
    • BS Biochemistry: Pharmacy
    • BS Chemistry
    • BS Geology
    • BS Marine Science: Biology*
    • BS Marine Science: Oceanography*
    • BS Physics
    • BS Physics: Astronomy
    • BS Physics: Engineering
    • BS Physics: Engineering Technology

    *The Marine Science Program Coordinator is Dr. Adrienne Oakley, oakley@kutztown.edu

    Minors
    • Astronomy
    • Marine Science
    • Physics
    • Biochemistry
    • Chemistry
    • Geology
    • Marine Sciences*
  • Department of Political Science & Public Administration

    Chair: Dr. Steve Lem, lem@kutztown.edu
    Secretary: Heather Pafchek, pafchek@kutztown.edu
    Phone: 610-683-4449
    Office: A 318 Old Main
    Website

    Majors
    • BA Political Science
    • BA Political Science: Paralegal Studies
    • BS Public Administration
    Minor
    • International Studies
    • Political Science
    • Public Administration
    Graduate Program
    • Public Administration (MPA)
    • Public Administration: Criminal Justice (MPA)
  • Department of Psychology

    Chair: Dr. Jason Lanter, lanter@kutztown.edu
    Secretary: Mrs. Christy Derr, derr@kutztown.edu
    Phone: 610-683-4455
    Office: 384 Old Main
    Website

    Majors
    • BS Psychology
    • BS Psychology: Paralegal Studies
    Minors
    • Psychology
    • Multicultural Studies in the United States
  • Department of Social Work

    Chair: Dr. John Vafeas, vafeas@kutztown.edu
    Secretary: Mrs. Andrea Snyder, asnyder@kutztown.edu
    Management Technician: Mrs. Mary Bononno, bononno@kutztown.edu
    Phone: 610-683-4235
    Office: 351 Old Main
    Website

    Majors
    • BSW Social Work
    Minors
    • Social Work
    • Case Management
    Graduate Programs
    • Master of Social Work (MSW)
    • Doctor of Social Work (DSW)
    Certificates
    • School Social Work