Out! @ KU

The Out! @ KU List was designed to bring attention and recognition to staff and faculty of Kutztown University who are "out" regarding their LGBTQ+ identity. In order to foster and sustain an environment of inclusivity and positivity on Kutztown's campus, it's important to highlight the ways in which our staff and faculty members are diverse. The Out! @ KU List also gives students a chance to reach out to to LGBTQ+ identified staff and faculty on campus to discuss topics or issues around gender identity and sexual identity here at Kutztown University. 

If you would like to be included on this list, please fill out this form

------------------------------------------------------------

Amanda Slichter (She/Her)

Assistant Director / Residence Life

slichter@kutztown.edu

I am a cisgender bisexual woman.

------------------------------------------------------------

Andy Thierauf (He/Him)

Instructor / Department of Music

thierauf@kutztown.edu

------------------------------------------------------------

Christopher Weiler (He/Him)

Associate Professor / Elementary, Middle Level, Library, and Technologies (EMLT) Education

cweiler@kutztown.edu

My identity encompasses many things. It is first and foremost tied to my vocation - and if asked about myself, I typically begin by explaining that I'm a teacher and a lifelong learner second. I'm also a partner, a son, a nephew, an uncle, and a friend to many, who also happens to be a cisgender, gay male.

------------------------------------------------------------

Curt Herr (He/Him)

Professor / English (Victorian & Queer Literature)

herr@kutztown.edu

I teach Victorian, Gothic, and Queer Literature.

------------------------------------------------------------

Deryl Johnson (He/Him)

Professor / Department of Communication Studies

Former Director / LGBTQ Resource Center

johnson@kutztown.edu

I am a Performer, Playwright, Queer Scholar and a former Director of our LGBTQ+ Resource Center.  I teach a course in Queer Studies entitled: Sexualities & Communication in Everyday Life.

------------------------------------------------------------

James Rose (He/Him)

Professor / Art & Art History

rose@kutztown.edu

------------------------------------------------------------

Jason Crockett (He/They)

Professor / Anthropology & Sociology

crockett@kutztown.edu 

Gay/Queer & Non-Binary. I teach LGBTQ+ Studies. Any student interested in LGBTQ+ themed research is welcome to contact me.

------------------------------------------------------------

Jerry Schearer (He/Him)

Senior Associate Dean of Students / Office of Dean of Students

Chief Diversity Officer / Enrollment Management & Student Affairs

schearer@kutztown.edu

Gay cis-gender male,  always willing to talk to students about coming out;  spiritual-queer identity; connect with community resources; discrimination issues and any other assistance.

------------------------------------------------------------

Jessica Robinson (She/Her)

Assistant Professor / Communication Studies

jrobinson@kutztown.edu

I identify as a bi and queer cisgender woman. I study questions of gender and identity in video game spaces, and am always happy to chat!

------------------------------------------------------------

Maria Sanelli (She/Her)

Professor / History

msanelli@kutztown.edu

I identify as a Dyke. Lesbian is too closely aligned with some folks who are transphobic and Queer is a bit too broad to accurately represent my gender and sexual orientation. Dyke represents the toughness  and assertiveness, as well as my same-sex affections, that I have evolved into over many years.

------------------------------------------------------------

R. Chad Brown (He/Him)

Assistant Director / Retention & Student Success

cbrown@kutztown.edu

------------------------------------------------------------

Samantha Nye (She/Her)

Assistant Professor / Art & Art History

nye@kutztown.edu

------------------------------------------------------------

Tim Betz (He/Him)

Instructor / Art History

betz@kutztown.edu

Bisexual cis-gendered man.

------------------------------------------------------------

Timothy Hahn (He/Him)

Assistant Director of Admissions / Office of Admissions - Enrollment Management

hanh@kutztown.edu

I'm also known by the student body as Sharron Ann Husbands, hostess of the KU Drag Show!

------------------------------------------------------------

Vale Deeter (She/Her)

Department Secretary / Secondary Education

deeter@kutztown.edu

Aromantic/Asexual