On November 23, 1999, Gov. Tom Ridge signed into law Act 48, which changed the requirements for maintaining an active Pennsylvania professional educator certificate.
Students are responsible for filling out an Act 48 form per course that he or she
Frequently asked questions on Act 48
What is Act 48 and who is affected?
All educators holding Pennsylvania public school certification including Instructional I and II, Educational Specialist I and II, Administrative, Supervisory, Letters of Eligibility and all vocational certificates, employed or not. The goal of professional education is to improve accountability and quality in professional development. PDE strives to establish expectations that include work-embedded experiences with depth and continuity consistent with the Standards Aligned System. Certain school and system leaders serving under administrative certificates are affected differently since they must comply with Act 45 of 2007.
What are the requirements under Act 48?
All professional educators must obtain six college credits or 180 hours of continuing professional education programs, activities or learning experiences or any combination of credits or activity hours equivalent to 180 hours every five years for all types and areas of certification to maintain active status. One college credit equals 30 activity hours. All credits and activity hours must be related to an educator's certificate type or area of assignment. The administrator may approve exceptions if a change of assignment area is anticipated.
Effective July 13, 2016 - Legislation passed stipulates that if an educator exceeds the 180-hour requirement, within this current compliance period, up to 50 excess hours or credit-equated hours earned within the last two years of the current compliance period may be attributed to the succeeding five-year compliance period. Kutztown University is not required to upload any more than the 180 + 50 excess hours.
What are the specific deadlines for meeting the requirements?
The five-year period begins on the effective date of issuance of the educator's initial Instructional I certificate. The requirements will be renewed at the end of each five-year period. Each individual's assigned five-year period is based on the date of issuance of his/her Instructional I certificate, or the date of implementation of ACT 48 on July 1, 2000, whichever is later. Five-year period beginning dates can change, depending on whether an extension was granted, or if a five-year period was completed after the deadline, or other factors, in which case a new five-year period is assigned beginning the day after the previous five-year period was completed.
How will educators and public school entities know when the five-year period is over?
At least 12 months prior to the end of the five-year period, the Department will notify both the educators and the public school entities regarding the continuing education status and remaining credit/hours, if any, to be completed. It is important that educators inform the Department of any change of address.
Submit a Course Form
You can submit your Act 48 course form one of two ways:
- Fill out this online form
- Print out this PDF and submitting by mail
Kutztown University of Pennsylvania
College of Education
231 Beekey Education Center
PO Box 730
Kutztown, PA 19530
(610) 683-4332· FAX (610) 683-4255