2018-19 News

MAY 3, 2019

Please join us in congratulating our Spring 2019 graduates, as well as celebrating the following students' achievements:

  • Ashley Byerly: J. Dwight Daugherty Award, Student Teaching Award
  • Grant Fickes: Kryptos cryptanalysis competition, Mathematics Award, Mathematics Undergraduate Research Award, Mugridge Research Symposium Gold Medal, William Lowell Putnam Mathematical Competition
  • Liannah Kim: William Lowell Putnam Mathematical Competition
  • Diego Manzano-Ruiz: William Lowell Putnam Mathematical Competition
  • Jacob McCann: Kryptos cryptanalysis competition TURING level of achievement, Mugridge Research Symposium Silver Medal, William Lowell Putnam Mathematical Competition
  • Alexander MillerMugridge Research Symposium
  • Vanessa Maybruck: Mugridge Research Symposium Bronze Medal
  • Gabriel Olah: Mugridge Research Symposium
  • Michael Rex: Kappa Mu Epsilon Award
MAY 3, 2019

Please join us in congratulating the following students on their induction into the Kappa Mu Epsilon National Honorary Mathematics Society:

Kappa Mu Epsilon Members

Angela De Cicco, Laura Durdon, Zachary Fike, Christine Holland, Karissa Jean, Jenna Kanyak, Georgia Lobb, Vanessa Maybruck, Abby Moyer, Safal Raut Chhetri, Isaac Reiter, Alexander Swift, and Xinyi To

APRIL 5, 2019

Congratulations to Mathematics major Grant Fickes, Chambliss Student Academic Achievement Award recipient!

Grant Fickes is a mathematics major graduating in May from Red Lion, Pa. He is awarded the Chambliss Academic Achievement Award Gold Medal in the category of successfully completed research projects. Fickes has co-authored three papers for publication during his time at KU. One of which was already accepted by the Journal of Combinatorial Mathematics and Combinatorial Computing. He is currently working on a fourth paper with mathematics professor, Dr. Tony Wong, concerning edge-distinguishing chromatic numbers. Fickes has presented on both the local and national levels, including the National Joint Mathematics Meeting. He has won three mathematics awards at KU, is a Dean's List student, a member of the Kappa Mu Epsilon Mathematics Honor Society and is the recipient of the Sesquicentennial Scholarship and the STEM Scholarship. Fickes is also an elite-level alto saxophone player in KU's award-winning Jazz Ensemble. He aspires to be a professor and researcher in mathematics.

Grant Fickes posing with his gold medal
NOVEMBER 19, 2018

Kutztown University professor of mathematics Dr. Yun Lu delivered the fall 2018 Chambliss Faculty Research Awards lecture "Optimization by Metaheuristics."  Metaheuristics are high-level problem-independent algorithmic frameworks that provide a set of guidelines or strategies to develop heuristic optimization algorithms. They are generally recognized as efficient approaches to solve complex problems in industry and services, in areas ranging from finance to production management and engineering.

Dr. Lu is presented with the Chambliss award

In Sept. 2017, Lu was awarded the Chambliss Faculty Research Award during the university's Faculty and Staff Convocation and Celebration.  The Chambliss Award, inaugurated in 2004 through a gift from Dr. Carlson R. Chambliss, professor emeritus, is meant to recognize the very highest achievement in research and scholarship and can be awarded only once in a person's career. 

NOVEMBER 13, 2018

Dr. Wing Hong Tony Wong was featured as part of the Reading Eagle's first "40 under 40" list, which recognizes outstanding leaders in the Berks County region who are excelling in their organizations through their leadership roles.  Click here to read about Dr. Wong!

NOVEMBER 3, 2018

Mathematics majors Grant Fickes, Jacob McCann, and Alexander Miller each gave a presentation at the Fall Meeting of the Eastern Pennsylvania and Delaware (EPaDel) Section of the Mathematical Association of America (MAA). They were accompanied by their mentor, Dr. Wing Hong Tony Wong, who also gave a presentation, and Dr. Brian Kronenthal.

Students and mentors pose at the conference
OCTOBER 27, 2018

The KU Department of Mathematics gave four talks at the fifth Annual PASSHE Undergraduate Research Conference in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) hosted by Millersville University.  Participants included students: Bryan McNally (Computer Science major, Math minor), Alexander Miller (Math major), and Maxwell Persky (Computer Science major) and faculty members: Dr. Emerick, Dr. Lu, Dr. Vasko, and Dr. Wong. 

Students and mentors pose at the conference

News Archive